ANZIIL Standards

The ANZIIL standards, which underpin the OIL modules, refer to six core standards established by the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Information Literacy. The standards are based on four overarching principles. These are,
  • that information literate people engage in independent learning through constructing new meaning, understanding and knowledge
  • derive satisfaction and personal fulfillment from using information wisely
  • individually and collectively search for and use information for decision making and problem solving in order to address personal, professional and societal issues
  • demonstrate social responsibility through a commitment to lifelong learning and community participation
The definition adopted by the ANZIIL of the information literate person is one who "recognizes when information is needed and has the ability to locate, evaluate and use effectively the needed information."   This definition is derived from the Association of College and Research Libraries Information literacy competency standards for higher education ACRL, Chicago 2000. (

The six standards

The principles frame six core standards which underpin information literacy acquisition,
understanding and application by an individual. These standards identify that the information
literate person:

1. recognises the need for information and determines the nature and extent of the information needed.

2. finds needed information effectively and efficiently

3. critically evaluates information and the information seeking process

4. manages information collected or generated

5. applies prior and new information to construct new concepts or create new understandings

6. uses information with understanding and acknowledges cultural, ethical, economic, legal and social issues surrounding the use of information